Green Sun Care

It finally feels like summer! I spent last weekend down south in Puglia visiting some friends and I had an AMAZING time! Two days filled with laziness in the sun, delicious food and an even better company.

I am loving this weather and I cannot wait to get that healthy sun kissed look. I am a fair-skinned lady and I do burn easily, but I have learnt over the years to protect my skin properly. I am a 30+ sunscreen fan, I try to use it every day on my face, décolletage and hands as soon as those rays start becoming a bit stronger. I must admit though that it has not always been like that. I started worrying about sun damage when I was about 25, before that I was a no SPF bronzing oil lover who used to get burnt at least once or twice every summer. Living in Australia for a while has definitely made a difference, their iconic SLIP – SLOP – SLAP made me realize that my despicable sun behaviour was not doing any good to my skin. Not only it exposed it to serious damage like cancer, but it was also leading me down the fast track of premature aging.

Sometimes I wonder what my skin would have looked like now if I had had the same sun attitude I have now. Guess it is too late to find now!

It is very unlikely for me to drop below 30+, I sometimes even use 50+ on my face as I suffer from hyperpigmentation on certain areas and trust me, a dark shadow on your upper lip is not exactly the look you aim to achieve.

Since I started using sunscreen on a daily basis, and not only when going to the beach, I noticed that it was quite hard to find a lotion with a high SPF, yet a light texture. Most of them felt heavy and sticky, and while looking greasy while sun tanning on the beach is somehow acceptable, the same look does not quite fit in an off-beach/pool zone. After a long research I found the perfect product! I am talking about the Jurlique Sun Lotion SPF 30+. I really love it because not only it has a lightweight texture, but also because it does not smell “beachy” at all. Although I love that coconut/monoi feeling, I would not be able to cope with it every day. This lotion has a fresh smell instead which makes it suitable for the off-beach zone as well and it comes in two sizes, 30 ml and 100ml. It is not what I would call low-priced, that is why I do not use it for my body but save it for my face, neck and hands instead.

So what are the other green sun care options available? These are the natural ranges that intrigued me the most.

COOLA Organic Sun Care Collection

This brand offers three lines of certified organic sun protection, Mineral, Classic and Plant UV and the range includes Face, Body, Sport and Liplux. The products are made with 70%+ certified organic ingredients and they are available unscented as well. I would love to try the sport SPF 30 Piña Colada sunscreen spray and the sport SPF 35 citrus mimosa sunscreen. I bet they smell delicious!

The Organic Pharmacy

This company offers a full range of skincare, haircare and supplements and I quite like their policy, the best organic ingredients, honest expert advice, quality service, incredibly effective products and a caring environment. The suncare collection includes sun creams, after sun lotions and tan accelerators. The Cellular Protection Sun Cream SPF30 is a natural mineral sunscreen that provides protection to UVA and UVB rays and it is packed with high quality ingredients like aloe, rosehip, sweet orange and shea butter. Getting that healthy golden glow is not always easy when you have fair skin and you use an SPF 30+, so the Tan Accelerator represents a great option to get the sun kissed look quicker. This product will help you develop your tan faster thanks to its Betacarotene and Kapi Kacchu extract, but do not forget to match it with your chosen SPF! The ingredients include pomegranate, jojoba, calendula and vitamin E.

Juice Beauty

This sun care collection is chemical-free and provides protection, moisture and powerful antioxidants. Juice Beauty SPF30 Sheer Mineral Moisturiser is formulated with essential nutrients and it contains organic white grape and aloe juices to replenish and nourish skin. It also contains organic plant oils of coconut, sunflower and jojoba to improve hydration.

What is your favourite green sunscreen? Mineral or plant based? Scented or unscented?

One thought on “Green Sun Care

Leave a Reply

