Takes three to ice cream…

I was recently talking to a friend of mine who was visiting Italy and he said to me:

“If there is one thing Italians are good at that’s gotta be ice cream!”

While I believe there are MANY things Italians are good at, and that definitely does not include politics, I must admit we do pretty well with food and our ice creams taste delicious! Unfortunately not all ice creams are equally healthy, but I have got good news for all the gelato lovers out there! You can make your own ice cream at home with just THREE ingredients!

YES YOU CAN!

 All you need is a blender, bananas, nut butter and veg milk. Sounds fab doesn’t it?

I bumped into this recipe a little while ago, and despite the initial scepticism, I decided to give it a go.  It is super easy to prepare and let me tell you…it tastes great! I got my mum to try it and she is definitely not an easy one when it comes to food. Well, she asked for more!

STEP 1

Peel 2 bananas and put them in the freezer.

STEP 2

Once the bananas are frozen chop them up and put them in a blender together with a tbs of your favourite nut butter (I love almond!) and blend until smooth. Add some vegetable milk and you’re done! I quite like oat milk and coconut milk, but options are pretty endless.

photo 1

STEP 3

This is the tricky bit…see  note below….put the mix back into the freezer.

…I said PUT IT BACK!

Leave it in there for a couple of hours and…enjoy your healthy, dairy free homemade ice cream!

ice cream

Quick note:

As tempting as it might seem, try not to eat it all before step 3.

In case that happens just go back to step 1 and start again.

I’ve been there. Several times. 🙂

Are you an ice cream lover? Any good homemade recipes? Share them with us!

4 thoughts on “Takes three to ice cream…

Leave a Reply

